Kathryn Miller Named 2017 STEP Ahead Honoree by The Manufacturing Institute

On April 20, The Manufacturing Institute will recognize Kathryn Miller, Owner and President of HST Materials, Inc., as well as 129 other women in Washington, D.C. as recipients of the fifth-annual Women in Manufacturing STEP (Science, Technology, Engineering and Production) Ahead Awards. The STEP Ahead Awards honor women at all manufacturing levels who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in their careers.

“These women exemplify the path an exciting career in manufacturing can take,” said Heidi Alderman, 2017 Chair of STEP Ahead and Senior Vice President of Intermediates North America, BASF Corporation. “STEP Ahead recognizes women nationwide for their significant achievements to the field of manufacturing, and the positive impact on their companies and the industry as a whole.”

The STEP Ahead Awards are part of the larger STEP Ahead initiative launched to promote the role of women in manufacturing through recognition and research. The stories of these women and the leadership they show will help inspire next generation female leaders in manufacturing and support current female talent within the industry.

The manufacturing industry is currently experiencing a shortage of women in the workforce, representing only 27 percent of the manufacturing labor force. Women represent manufacturing’s largest pool of untapped talent, which makes them a critical factor in closing the skills gap. The STEP Ahead initiative continues to support and encourage women to become leaders in manufacturing and inspire others to pursue the amazing career opportunities available in this industry.

To read more about Kathryn Miller as a STEP Ahead Honoree, visit her profile on the Manufacturing Institute’s website.

For more information about the STEP Ahead Awards, please contact STEPAhead@nam.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.